.st0{fill:#FFFFFF;}

Are Lotus Biscoff Cookies Vegan? 

 February 15, 2021

This post may have affiliate links, which means we may receive commission (at no cost to you!) if you choose to purchase through them.  Here's our Privacy Policy & Terms Of Use for more info.

Summary

Yes. The regular and plain Lotus Biscoff cookies are vegan.  However the Biscoff cookies with chocolate and Biscoff Sandwich Chocolate Cream cookies contain dairy so those are not vegan.

Lotus Biscoff cookies

Backstory of Lotus Biscoff cookies

Invented in 1932 by a Belgian baker, this unique shaped cookie is much loved around the world.  It is often served with coffee at cafes in Europe and used as an ingredient in many desserts.  The original cookies have always been dairy and egg free. They are caramelized, thin cookies that are very crunchy and have a hint of cinnamon.

Ingredients of Lotus Biscoff Cookies

Wheat flour, sugar, vegetable oils (contains one or more of soybean oil, sunflower oil, canola oil, palm oil), brown sugar syrup, sodium bicarbonate (leavening), soy flour, salt, cinnamon. 

Does not contain nuts.  Contains: wheat and soy. 

Good to know

  • Lotus Biscoff cookies may contain palm oil. While this is technically vegan, many people like to avoid this ingredient due to the concerns that it is not healthy and that the growing of palm is linked to deforestation in many tropical countries where it is grown. According to the WWF Palm Oil Buyers scorecard, Lotus scores fairly well. These cookies are non-GMO
  • Lotus Biscoff cookies contain sugar. The Biscoff website tells us that these cookies are vegan friendly so we can safely assume that the sugar in these cookies are not filtered through bone char.
Are Lotus Biscoff Cookies Vegan

How is it used?

Biscoff cookies were created to be served with coffee as the flavor of the cookies enhances the coffee.  However, many creative vegan cooks use Biscoff cookies to make a cheesecake base, crunch them and sprinkle over ice cream, brownies, shortbread, banana bread and tiramisu. 

There are lots of recipes online to make your own Biscoff cookies. You’ll be able to monitor the types of ingredients and the amount of sugar that’s in them.

Buy Biscoff cookies

You can buy Biscoff cookies in many supermarkets and online.

Overall takeaways

  • The original Biscoff cookies are vegan
  • The chocolate versions of Biscoff cookies are not vegan.
  • They contain palm oil although they are making efforts to source their palm oil responsibly.

Let's Discuss!

We'd love to hear from you!  Do you have any questions?    Share YOUR favorite Biscoff cookie brand or recipe in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss another good vegan tip or review.   Subscribe now and get our new articles delivered straight to your inbox!

We never send you spam.  You can unsubscribe at any time.

You might also be interested in these articles: